CDO Basketball Stars, Jalalon and Nambatac, Will Lead the 2016 NCAA All-Star Game!

CDO Basketball Stars, Jalalon and Nambatac, Will Lead the 2016 NCAA All-Star Game!

ncaa all star

Cagayan de Oro Basketball players are shining in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The MVP front runners, Jiovani Jalalon and Rey Nambatac, are the leaders that have been assigned to the Western and Eastern All-Star teams for the NCAA that will be held on August 12 at the San Juan Arena.

Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s (CSJL) Nambatac is the favorite to grab this year’s MVP title in the league. Arellano University’s (AU) Jalalon, on the other hand, is widely considered by coaches, fellow players, analysts, and fans as the best point guard in collegiate basketball today.

Nambatac is known to be a proven scorer during High school playing for the Letran Knights already, while Jalalon spent his High School days in Xavier University High School (XUHS) in Cagayan de Oro City, before joining the AU Chiefs when he went to College.

Aside from them, there are three more players from Cagayan de Oro City that will participate in the upcoming All-Star game. They are Kent Salado of AU, Mcjour Luib of CSJL, and Dan Sara of San Beda College (SBC).

trio ncaa

Nambatac will be joined in the East by Colegio de San Juan de Letran teammates Mcjour Luib and Jom Sollano; College of St. Benilde’s JJ Domingo, Christian Fajarito, and Yankie Haruna; Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Jorem Morada, Francis Munsayac and Sidney Onwubere; Lyceum of the Philippines University’s Ian Alban, Jesper Ayaay, and Wilson Baltazar; and Mapua Institute of Technology’s Exe Biteng, Andoy Estrella, and Darell Menina.

While Jalalon’s teammates in the West will be composed of fellow Arellano University stars Julius Cadavis and Kent Salado; Ervin Grospe, Paolo Pontejos, and Teytey Teodoro of Jose Rizal University; Bright Akhuetie, AJ Coronel, and Gab Dagangon of University of Perpetual Help; Davon Potts, Dan Sara, and Donald Tankoua of San Beda College; and Michael Calisaan, Ryan Costelo, and Jerick Fabian of San Sebastian College-Recoletos.

The coaches for the East and West All-Star teams are yet to be announced.

This is the third year of this annual NCAA All-Star game. Last year’s All-Star game has been dominated by CSB’s Jonathan Grey and Letran’s Mark Cruz, helping the Western All-Stars defeat the East.

NCAA basketball is considered as a more physical type of basketball league compared to the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP), which imposed a stricter rule on defense.

Basketball glory days for Cagayan de Oro City are back again!

There are also notable current and former PBA players coming from Cagayan de Oro that we can remember.

They were Jojo Lastimosa, Aaron Aban, and Carlo Lastimosa who is currently savoring his breakout season this year in the PBA.

Nambatac and Jalalon are among the few promising basketball players from Cagayan de Oro that will make noise in the PBA once they arrive there someday like what their elders achieved.

But for now, let us savor the moment and save the date, August 12, as the top two NCAA players from Cagayan de Oro will lead the East and West clash in this year’s NCAA All-Star game in San Juan.

No Comments

Post A Comment